index older add a note diaryland


February 19, 2013 - 11:25 am

No one asked for it, but my opinion of all these opinions on parenting

So I want to veer off of my regular timeline type format and actually write about something that has been annoying me: Parenting and receiving/giving advice. I am not one who asks for advice unless I'm really stuck on something. I like to figure it out for myself. I'm also not one to GIVE advice, unless I'm specifically asked. This is just the way I am, and in reference to advice on everything (parenting, relationships, etc).

When I had Cadence, I was pretty much the first of my friends to have a baby (except for Pam and Megan). It was a learning experience and I didn't have many people to ask. After 4 months, I didn't even have my mom to ask. Today, there are 9,000,000 blog sites about this parent saying to do things a certain way or that parent saying to do them the exact opposite. There are opinions on immunizations, co-sleeping, cry it out, sids, attachment parenting and everything else you can imagine. After having 2 babies that are TWO UNIQUE PEOPLE WITH DIFFERENT PERSONALITIES AND NEEDS I have learned that there is no one way right or wrong to raise a child! I do things with Jade I never did with Cadence or thought I'd never do with her. Cadence slept in her own bed since day 1 and slept through the night since 4 months. Jade still doesn't sleep through the night and she usually ends up in our bed sometime during the night. I can go on and on about all their differences, but that's not the point. I just want to say that nobody is 100% right. Nobody is 100% wrong. Parents need to find what works best for them, their children and their situations. I'm sick of preachers going on and on about all these different topics.
Parenting is just as personal, if not MORE, than political opinions. Everyone is entitled to do things their way, to try different approaches.
Recently there is a blogger who lost her 4th and youngest child at 14 months to what is being ruled as sids. It scares and upsets me that something could happen at 14 months like that, and it saddens me to think about the grief that the family must be going through, but I can not comprehend that a human life just stops working for no reason. There had to be something underlying to cause the body to just stop working.
But it's also a wake-up call that no matter what you believe in- co-sleeping, breastfeeding, homeschooling... You cannot protect your child from every harm that may come their way. When it is their time to go, it is their time.
Enjoy every minute that you can with them and love them no matter what.

previous - next


archery instructor aka wonderwoman - September 25, 2017
missing jay! - September 15, 2017
trying to remember, and wishing I could forget - September 07, 2017
completely overwhelmed - September 05, 2017
16 girl scouts - August 25, 2017