index older add a note diaryland


January 19, 2010 - 8:49 am

REMEMBER

REMEMBER
1/19/00
This diary is pre-that day, but I remember where I was 10 years ago, and I couldn't understand why the phone was ringing off the hook at 5AM when all I wanted to do was sleep. I had just gotten back from Puerto Rico, the semester just started, and I did not appreciate a 5 AM wake up call.
It was my roommate Lauren's mother. Seton Hall was on the news- there was a fire on campus in a dorm. Thankfully it was not mine. It was the freshman dorm, where many of my friends lived. I couldn't understand what was going on. When I heard fire, I though just a harmless prank. I didn't know at the time that 3 were dead and hundreds injured, some with injuries so bad that they would never look the same again.
I remember going to the caf. There was snow on the ground, and as I got closer to the building, the snow just turned black.. it was soot. People were walking around covered in it. I just wanted to make sure that all of my friends were ok. Thankfully they were.
Classes were cancelled for close to a week. I was annoyed and wished I'd stayed in puerto rico longer. Alex drove me home, it was probably the last time I saw him that thieving liar.

previous - next


archery instructor aka wonderwoman - September 25, 2017
missing jay! - September 15, 2017
trying to remember, and wishing I could forget - September 07, 2017
completely overwhelmed - September 05, 2017
16 girl scouts - August 25, 2017