index older add a note diaryland


June 29, 2021 - 7:16 am

2 week update

It's been a while since I missed a weekly update. Two weeks of camp done. The first week we went to rainforest cafe because I had to use my birthday reward and we had a $25 gift card from when they messed up our take out order. On a tuesday (or was it wednesday) there was still a 45 minute wait because they only had 2 servers. So we walked around the mall. Dinner was eh. They scaled back their menu. I tried a beyond burger. It wasn't that great and my fries were soggy... Then it turns out the gift card we had didn't work! Would have been better off losing the birthday reward!
Didn't bother with my kids classes this week. I didn't have anyone the first two weeks & no one contacted me about them. Ortho appt- next visit is braces off. Also paid for J's phase 1. With the extra child credits coming in starting in July, the 6 months for both kids covers the cost so I fronted the money.
Friday we were up and back to pickup. She had a good week at camp and liked that property. Had lost her program credit card on the day of the trading post but found it the next day. They couldn't do their backpacking overnight because there were storms wednesday and thursday so they just did cowboy camping just off the property.
Turns out, those storms on Wednesday ignited some major wildfires that are still burning TODAY- almost 2 weeks later. In fact, they closed the camp on Saturday for Sunday's campers and it's been closed these past 2 weeks! One of my troop girls was supposed to go & her brother was supposed to go to boyscout camp (mom and dad were gonna have a getaway). Well they took the kids with them to san diego and they are going to try for next week at camp. Then Jay forgot we had a movie date and made plans to work on his oven, so I just went to bed. :(
Saturday, the one day I had with my kids, I had a service team planning lunch from 11-3. Didn't do much on saturday. I'm still boycotting grocery shopping.
Sunday it was back in the car again to drop them both off. I have to say that SRR dropoff was much easier as the drive through. WS was different and just seemed to take longer, although we got up there about 30 minutes before dropoff started and were on our way home before 2pm.
Since Sunday was father's day, the girls had made nice cards. I reminded them multiple times because that's what a wife does! I had picked up a pair of water shoes ,but they were too big and when we went to return/exchange, they didn't have a smaller size. I tried, right?!
We got sushi for dinner and watched Fast 8 on the
couch.
Monday morning class. SO HARD to get up. Sometimes it is just me and sam. She pays me $5 a class though. I feel bad.
I don't remember much of last week. It went by in a blur. It felt so fast. It was quiet and clean and i didn't have to pick up anybody's messes or cook special meals. I enjoyed it for sure.
Monday night we stayed up late and watched stupid movies, can't remember what ones, got to go night swimming. Tuesday I had to wait for a delivery so I stayed home and watched some of the new amsterdam's and then we watched some shameless.
Wednesday I had 3 people in class. I completely messed up the choreo on one song- like terribly :facepalm: It happens, I know. We had some storms tuesday night so after class I spent the entire morning cleaning the pool and the yard.
Got a call from camp Wednesday night, small one got a splinter that couldn't be removed. I said as long as she isn't complaining, we will deal with it after pickup.
Thursday I spent most of the day applying for jobs. By night I was scrambling to try and plan this roadtrip. The original plan got cut in half due to the fires, but I wanted to research and figure out details because I like to have a gameplan and not drive aimlessly. Friday I felt completely overwhelmed, cancelled class, mowed the lawn, packed, cleaned up, and we were out the door a little after 11. We had a stop to make to drop off work and we were up at camp about 1:40. Got the girls and on our way to flagstaff.
Went and checked in, charged and headed to bearizona. It was pretty cool. Since we went so late in the day, there weren't many people there.
Saturday morning we were up and drove straight to kingman and then took the mother road back towards flagstaff. Well let me tell you- jay's car's range SUCKS. And when you have the AC on, it is awful. We started with 86%. It's only about 170 miles. Shouldn't have been any issue. Well when we got go Seligman, where there are a bunch of fun stops and a place to eat, he started freaking out- major range anxiety. I even asked at a KOA if we could hook up for a bit but he just wanted to drive straight back to flag. We made it with 5%. It sucks that we missed that last stop. We also skipped williams, but we went back there on Sunday. So after we got back, we charged and then went out to eat..We hadn't eaten since breakfast at 7 and it was already 3. So we found a diner. Mine was good; Jay didn't like his burger much. Eating out has become so expensive. It was $70 for diner food for the 4 of us. Then we just went back to the hotel. I ran to walmart to get some splinter removal tools but I couldn't tell what was wood and what is cut. The girls wanted to veg in front of the tv. I wanted to get dessert. We just went across the street to freddy's, which was pretty good- never ate there before.
Sunday we were checked out by 8 and went to williams to check out things there. It definitely reminded me of Cars. Lots of gift shops and things. Then we were on the road before 11. Got home about 1:30 and they were back in front of the tv.
The dog had some stomach issues while we were gone so we rented a carpet cleaner. Luckily it was only in one room. Laundry, unpacking, and I was in bed by 8. I was exhausted.
Yesterday didn't feel like monday at all. Felt like sunday with everyone home. Then again, I'm always home. Picked up lunches (might only have 2 more opportunities for that), library kits, stopped by this apartment complex that I'm going to be teaching at starting next week to get access. It's a circuit class and there is no room for it to be full bodyweight so it's really just going to be with the machines. I was a little disappointed. I could have used plyoga or some other bodyweight moves to make it more of a group class. If it's just going to be going around on machines, that's not much of a class.
Returned the carpet cleaner- it didn't suck very well and left the carpets soaking wet. We got a refund and went to another store to rent another one (they didn't have any more). Came home and tried this one. Seems to work a bit better but still not great. It doesn't smell like poop in here so I guess that's the important thing.
Watched the first 4 episodes of the icarly reboot. I was excited when I heard about it, but it's not that good.

previous - next


I don't feel old enough to have a freshman in high school - August 02, 2021
Tarsal Tunnel - July 27, 2021
4th grade - July 20, 2021
slow week - July 12, 2021
SENIOR? 3 years went by in a blink! - July 05, 2021