index older add a note diaryland


September 09, 2021 - 10:23 am

complaining entry

Last Thursday, I did something at PT that hurt my hip. By Thursday night, it was so sore. I figured maybe I overcompensated or poor posture or something. Friday, it still hurt. Went to the foot dr. He didn't say anything helpful, or even much at all. I go back in 2 months. While I was at the foot dr, jay and alex ripped out the brick around the fireplace. I got J in the pool and I sat on the side with her for a bit. I also mowed the lawn and cleaned the pool and picked up dog poop. Otherwise the girls just sat in their rooms all day friday on their technology. What a fun day off!
Friday night we demolished the fireplace hearth so now it's just the opening flush with the wall. Carried it into the backyard brick by brick. Scraped up my leg when the thinset that I was holding it by decided to break off.
Saturday, a buddy was supposed to help Jay hang drywall. Somehow that turned into me. We spent most of the day doing two walls. A few trips to the home improvement stores..
all the while my hip still hurting. If I'm up and moving, it's not bad, it's when I go to sit down.
Sunday we went out to breakfast for a change. I did some reading by the pool. Ran to floor and decor to get some ideas about stone/tile for the fireplace, and costco. Ended up ordering an electric fireplace to stick in the hole.
Monday still no school girls still in their rooms. Hip still hurting. Tile work did not start because he forgot the stores weren't open so all he could do was prep the cracks with sealer. :facepalm:
Tuesday, only one had school so not bad for me. Tile began. I had PT. We took it easy. He did a few stretches for my hip also but I was just feeling defeated and frustrated. I didn't do any of my at home stuff since Thursday. Sitting in the car is the WORST.
I spent most of the day in the bedroom reading. Then class- nobody showed up! I must have scared the two new people away. The other lady stopped in it was 6:15 by the time she got home from work so I left at 6:20.
Wednesday I was pretty much confined to the backyard. Half day and then we went to the trim store to pick out baseboards. I'm just like "give me something that's not expensive and won't gather too much dust." I really don't care about any of that crap. I'm sure it will look nicer than what we had but we have a cookie cutter 40 year old house with 8' ceilings. Nothing custom built or crown molding or anything crazy. We went a little taller and it has some small detail. Then had to pick up the other child and then off to ice skating. At least sitting on the cold bleachers felt ok.
Dinner has been eaten around the kitchen counter for the past 4-5 days. There's mold growing in the bathroom since I haven't cleaned in 3 weeks. I'm so grossed out by everything.
Today, I had double dropoff. I could barely get out of the car by the time I got home. Then since it's sunny in the backyard and I needed to use the computer, I decided to setup "office" in the garage. I have the laptop on top of the bucket of chlorine. It's not cool in here but it's not sunny. All I have is pickup today, which I know is going to suck, but at least I don't have PT until tomorrow.
They are hoping to finish the hall, bedroom and dining room today and get into the kitchen but it's not going to be done by tomorrow. Losing Monday certainly messed things up. And they work 7:30-1:30. Not like it's full days.
We still need to figure out what to do with the living room and hire someone to finish the drywall corners and stuff. I can't paint anything else right now. I should've done the bedroom closet but with my hip I just couldn't even think about that.
I'd prefer to get the trim painted BEFORE it gets installed and then just touch up but I don't know if that's going to be possible. If not, that's a lot of taping that I'm not looking forward to doing 230 linear feet x top and bottom.
I know i"m complaining but between physical pain, mental anguish of not having things where they need to go, living in dust and filth, plus my routine being upset, it's kind of overloading.
Hopefully by next week everything but the living room will be done (and painting in the den) so that I can spend next weekend cleaning, de-cluttering, organizing, and we can go back to eating at the dining room table.
I also hope that this pain subsides soon.

previous - next


construction day 66 - October 24, 2021
chaos continued - October 18, 2021
fall break - October 10, 2021
covid - October 04, 2021
home renovation continues - September 17, 2021