index older add a note diaryland


November 23, 2015 - 1:35 pm

Jay turns 39

So there's just over a month left of 2015. Uhh, how did that happen? This IS my 19th entry of the year, which is way better than the two I had for 2014 but no where near as many as I had hoped.
This past Thursday was Jay's 39th birthday. I got up at 5:30 to make him a birthday cake. Why is it that it's the ONE day he woke up before 7:30!? I was pretty much done, just working on putting the whipped cream on. So we dropped the girls off at school, went to IHOP for breakfast and then went hiking South Mountain to Fat Man's Pass. It was nice- just the two of us, doing SOMETHING. Then we stopped for a Jamba juice on the way home to refuel. Went to the chiropractor after lunch and cornish pasty for dinner! Cake at the house with Jason after. His birthday present didn't show up until Friday though. I ended up getting him a really nice GT-R hoodie. He liked it, and it fits pretty good. We had Pria on Friday night because Saturday I had a 6 hour journey workshop with 8 out of 10 girls.

Then the girls spent Saturday night with grandma. We did something we hadn't done in quite a while and finished what was left. Had a fire outside and just chilled by it for a few hours. It was nice and relaxing. Good night, like the rest. And that was how we celebrated his birthday. I think it was an enjoyable one for him and hopefully memorable.
He's a great dad, husband, and man. We celebrated our 10th wedding anniversary last month. We didn't even get each other cards or presents, but we took the girls to the AZ state fair in the afternoon and then went to the movies by ourselves in the evening and saw the Martian. It was good, not as good as the book of course though!
We also went to SEMA the following week. It was the first time we were both away from the girls overnight. They did ok, but everytime I called, it made Jade upset so I didn't really want to. It was an ok trip. I guess not what I expected. The SEMA show itself was good but not amazing. I guess just from going to so many car shows, I'm a bit spoiled. I've seen a lot of nice stuff in my day. The best part of the show itself was watching the roll out. We had to have watched it for over 2 hours and not all the cars had even left. It was a lot of walking and Thursday night my hip was killing me so I stayed in that night. Jay and Eric had a night out. I felt a little bit like I was imposing on the "boys' week". Did a little slot machine playing, had a total of 1 drink. I don't really think Vegas is my town, ya know. It wasn't a bad trip, just not what I expected.

We have about 6 weeks left before Judy goes home. I do have to say that it's nice having SOMEONE here to watch the girls and give us a break. I know Cadence is enjoying it. She's been such a great girl lately. She gets herself up and ready for school in the mornings. She helps with Jade a lot. She doesn't nag or pester me like I see some of the other girls do when they want something- If I say no, she usually doesn't ask again or question my decision.

previous - next


archery instructor aka wonderwoman - September 25, 2017
missing jay! - September 15, 2017
trying to remember, and wishing I could forget - September 07, 2017
completely overwhelmed - September 05, 2017
16 girl scouts - August 25, 2017