index older add a note diaryland


November 28, 2011 - 11:48 am

NJ part 2

Wednesday we went to Dawn & Kev's for breakfast. Dawn made eggs and homemade pancakes. Then we had to go back to the dentist for Jay for a cleaning, and then he got a few more fillings so he's all set. Then we ran back to the chiropractor so I didn't have to worry about that on Friday. Then we were trying to find something to do because we had to wait for Ruben to pick up Rayne's present (Lissy got it through work and saved an extra 10%) so we ended up going to Kearny by Davey's work. I can't even remember the last time I saw him. So we hung out there for a while and then back to totowa to pick up that stuff and then started on down the shore around 4. Hit some traffic and rain of course. Stopped by Mikey's on the way. First time I made it to his new condo/townhouse/whatever you call it. Chris wasn't home though. Cadence liked playing with his cats- Hubert & Mr. Pants. Hung out there for a while and then headed to his mom's house, only another 25 minutes or so in the car. Jay went and picked up white castle for dinner. I think Cadence got to bed by 9. I ended up doing some work because some stuff had to get done, but at least it put me ahead of the game this morning.
Thursday- turkey day. Didn't do much in the morning, got up late, relaxed, went over to Denise's by maybe 12 or so. She lives literally 3 blocks away. Go to the end of Judy's block, make a right, she's the 3rd left. Her house is nice. Very shore-like with the wood outside. She's still in the process of unpacking but mostly done.
Dinner was ok. No major drama. Food was good. Rayne & Cadence were playing on the stairs and Cadence ended up falling down the stairs. Jokingly, I said "Rayne, you pushed her down the stairs?" Apparently no one in NJ knows what a joke or sarcasm is anymore. I made her cry. According to Dana she was "devasted", but in 1/2 an hour she was over it. Well that's why the stairs are not meant for playing on! Whatever. They seemed to have a good time. We stepped out for an hour or so to see Jay's friend Dawn who lives in Brick. We stopped by there last year too.
Then we went back to the house, stayed a little while longer. One of the neighbors threw an egg at the house but it actually went inside because the door was open. That caused a bit of drama. Voices got raised because everyone had been drinking all day long. Not my neighbors, not my problem.
Friday- LAST DAY. I think we headed out around 10 to come up north. Not much traffic, so that was good and for once the sun was shining! Stopped by Steph's parents and got to meet baby Abigail! Almost 3 months old, so very cute. Then we ran up to Wharton to see Brandon. He had a double ear infection so Brooke spent thanksgiving in the ER with him and that's why they didn't make it to Montclair, but he seemed to be feeling a bit better. Then we had to head to pick up dawn and be there by 1:30, dropped a car off at Kevin's job and then off to the airport to go home.
Flight was on time, Cadence slept for maybe 2 out of 5 hours of it so it wasn't so bad. I think it's crazy though that you have to pay for food now, even on a 5 hour flight. All they give you is drinks.
This weekend was a little lazy. Got maybe 1/2 of the cleaning done but did go food shopping. I ran out to Michael's and got stocking stuffers so Cadence is done except for a bike helmet. Still need to get Jay presents but I don't know what to get him.
Saturday I find out that Beth is upset about a comment Jay said when we were there because she said something like 'the baby looks like carlo' and Jay said 'no, nothing like him; she's white'. Normally if Jay says something I find offensive, I'll say something to him. That, I don't think was offensive at all, I couldn't even remember what he had said; I had to ask. She waits 4 days to tell me; says she never wants to see him again, and said she wanted to ask us to leave when we were there, but when we were there she kinda laughed. She has to know by now when Jay's joking. We've been together 9 years. Ok maybe you didn't find it funny, but it wasn't something serious. (It's like Jay's sister all over again and another example about how people in NJ don't seem to understand sarcasm anymore.) I don't get it. It kinda annoys me in a way. She may be my best friend, but Jay is my husband. If I thought he was truly wrong, I'd say something, but I really don't agree with that.
So it's just kinda been mulling over in my brain for the last two days and I don't really know what to do with it. Puts me in a bad position that isn't fair.
Got most of Christmas up, except for the tree. Got a great groupon deal for $59 they deliver a Frasier Fir to your house.

previous - next


archery instructor aka wonderwoman - September 25, 2017
missing jay! - September 15, 2017
trying to remember, and wishing I could forget - September 07, 2017
completely overwhelmed - September 05, 2017
16 girl scouts - August 25, 2017