index older add a note diaryland


July 21, 2011 - 10:12 am

back from NJ

so back from NJ. It was nice to have 3 day vacation from being a mom and all I had to worry about was me. I got to go where I wanted when I wanted and not worry about naptime or snack time or having to find a bathroom. I needed the ME time.
Got in around 5:30 saturday morning, went to Barb's and had some bagels. Hung out there for a while catching up and then went up to Brooke's around 10-10:30. Got to meet baby Brandon. He seems like a good baby- not too fussy. Brooke and Jody look good. I'm happy for them. Hung out there until almost 3 and then didn't really have anywhere else to go so decided to stop by dave's mom's to say hi. Ended up staying there until 7. Had dinner. Saw dave and mike and mike's new girlfriend. He just found out today that he is actually a dad. The girl he was seeing last summer had a baby 2 months ago and the paternity test results just came back. Maybe it will be good for him. Help him to grow up and not be so self-centered.
Then I went to the hotel and hung out there with Beth & Julie and their dad and Maureen was there and her mom was doing some hair prep. It was nice to just spend some time with Beth because weddings are not meant for socializing. You get 5 minutes to say hi to each person if you are lucky.
So I crashed at like midnight after not sleeping Friday night and being up all day. They got up at 6 to head over to the place to get their hair/makeup done. I couldn't fall back asleep so I went jogging on the treadmill in the gym, then took a shower and then just took my time getting ready. I was debating eating breakfast, but since the wedding was so early I decided against it. Headed over there around 10:30 so I could be there by 11. The ceremony was outside- it was hot. But it was short so that was good. Cocktail hour was good. Tried not to arouse suspicion so had some cranberry juice plain. Lunch was not so good. I barely touched my salmon. It was very dry. I was sitting at the table with Julie's friends and their spouses. Julie's best friend's dad was sitting next to me and he happens to have the same birthday as Jay. So weird.
The reception was fun. Did a little dancing. I was the designated "take pictures with beth's camera" person so I didn't take any pictures with my own.
Beth & Carlo just looked so very happy. I hope they last. She deserves happiness.
So after the wedding, I headed to Dawn's since it happened to be her birthday and she was having a party. Kevin was there of course, and his mom and sister too. I think I hung out there until 8 or so and then headed back to Clifton. I stopped on the way at Pathmark to pick up some snack. I was disappointed they did not have apple puffs.
Back to Barb's to get some rest, but it was close to midnight before I could fall asleep. 6:30 came too early and I shut the alarm off. 7:23 I woke up. I was supposed to meet Jen at 7:30. I made it there by 7:45 at least. Breakfast at Ihop was good. Then 8:30 ish I was back on the road to the eye dr.
Checkup was good. I don't need a prescription. They found a slight one, but when they put it in front of me, and then took it away, it actually looked better not there. I'm still pretty much 20/20. My eyes are extremely dry so I have to put drops in as often as I can remember, and a gel at night. It actually feels kinds nice, but then I can't see so just before bedtime. They were concerned about the pressure in my eyes because there was a discrepancy and with my mother's glaucoma, they advised me to get more testing done, but they couldn't do it because of insurance purposes. I found one doctor out here that I'll try. I have an appointment next week. I'm not worried becuase they were in the normal range, and they didn't seem overly concerned either, but I'd rather just get it checked.
Then I went and saw dr alan and got my back cracked. Only a few adjustments; I've been feeling pretty good and haven't gone since November.
Then I stopped by TDW and saw Vilma & Laura and shipped out my snacks. Then I went to the office. Got there at 12:45. It was a little later than I wanted to.
There was NO LUNCH waiting for me. I was kinda disappointed. So me CJ and Andy went up the street to get pizza but andy forgot he had a meeting so we brought it back to the office and just me and cj ate.
Then it was time to head back to the airport. I wanted to leave by 2:15. I got out the door then, but then I could not get the nav to get me to alamo so that took a good 10 minutes. I should've been there at 3, but it was more like 3:30 because i missed the entrance and had to go 6 miles out of the way to turn around then I had to wait for the shuttle to get to the tram. Then I'm on the tram and the one we were on was out of service so We had to get off and then get on a different one. Then I get off at terminal b instead of a so the I had to take it back, then I had to wait in line for security. There were only 15-20 people ahead of me but it took almost 1/2 an hour. By the time I got to the gate it was 4:05 and boarding started at 4:15. I didn't even have time to go to the bathroom before I get on the plane.
The weekend flew by. I wanted to get to Friendly's for breakfast with Jill on Saturday, that didn't happen. If more people were around saturday, I wouldn't have gone to Dave's but I had nothing else to do really.
Taking off to come home I felt like I was going to vomit. I checked my seat pocket for the barf bag. I grabbed a gingerale as soon as they started serving drinks and I had some chips and that calmed my stomach down. The flight wasn't bad, except the last 1 1/2 hours, we were close to phoenix and headed straight into a dust storm. I thought seeing one from the ground was scary... try being up in the sky! We landed safely though and I was on my way home.
Tuesday we had to take Cadence to the dermatologist finally. They confirmed it eczema and said she should stay away from all perfumes and dyes for soaps, etc. Got a prescription for a corti-steroid cream. I don't know why regular cortizone wasn't good enough. It's almost all gone (FINALLY) but she could have this for the rest of her life. That kinda sucks.
I'm just exhausted. I don't know if I'm still recouperating from the weekend or if it's just the end of week 6/week 7 kicking my butt.
I made my appointment for Dr Kells for the 2nd. Can't wait! I want to tell everyone, but so far I've kept it to just Jay & Beth.
Around Labor day will be 13 weeks, and I'm sure it will be here soon enough.
Work has been pretty quiet today. It's only 11. I had finished all my work by 9:30.

previous - next


archery instructor aka wonderwoman - September 25, 2017
missing jay! - September 15, 2017
trying to remember, and wishing I could forget - September 07, 2017
completely overwhelmed - September 05, 2017
16 girl scouts - August 25, 2017