index older add a note diaryland


May 09, 2010 - 6:51 am

bittersweet mom's day

I�ve been up since 5:30 but that�s ok. For my birthday I went to bed at 9 PM. That�s what I wanted most- SLEEP. I even took a nap on the couch when cadence was napping yesterday. Jay made Eggplant parm for dinner and a cake. Very low-key, which was fine.

I'm finally starting to feel better too. My tummy seems to be more on track and with the mold gone, I haven�t gotten a headache in almost 2 weeks.
Our gate should be in this week I hope. No word on getting our window money back yet- it�s been 18 weeks so I�m guessing we�ll never see that deposit.
Cadence is still hit and miss with the potty. She goes, but I have to bring her in there every hour or so, when I can remember. Jay�s not a big help with that so it�s very inconsistent, but when I�m working I don�t realize how much time is passing. She plays a new game that I don�t know where she came up with this one it�s �what�s behind my back�. She gets something and puts it behind her back and we have to guess. Kids are so imaginative!
We got in the pool this weekend. Should be warm enough from here on out. It�s getting to be consistently mid 90�s during the day- too hot to walk to the mailbox with no shoes now!
Jay�s sis is coming out for Memorial day weekend, Saturday-Wednesday mid-day ,so maybe we can go do something like go to Tuscon or something fun.

Today's mother's day. It's bittersweet. I miss my mom, but I love being a mom. I've said it probably a million times. I don't know what I would do if Cadence wasn't in my life. I think it would have made losing my mother so much harder to cope with. Don't get me wrong- Jay is important too and helped me get through it, but just the act of becoming a mom and having a different perspective on life and being able to understand things "as a mother". I think that it really was intended that I have this before she passed, and for that I am truly grateful.

previous - next


archery instructor aka wonderwoman - September 25, 2017
missing jay! - September 15, 2017
trying to remember, and wishing I could forget - September 07, 2017
completely overwhelmed - September 05, 2017
16 girl scouts - August 25, 2017