index older add a note diaryland


December 30, 2009 - 12:52 pm

almost 2010

so since I was travelling last week and jay is gone this week, I can't help but thinking this horrible though. What if something happened to me while Jay was gone? Say I fell and cracked my head open. All I can do is imagine Cadence trying to wake me up. She can't dial 911. She's locked in the house. Horrible, I know, but I guess that's the kind of things you think about when you are a parent.
The good news is that jay will be home in 31 hours, and I can't wait. Although Cadence has been pretty good the last 3 days. I feel horrible just leaving the TV on for her while I work, but it's the only thing that keeps her occupied right now so I can get stuff done. Today hasn't really been busy, but I know Monday will. I have tomorrow off. I think we are going to clean the house and bake a cake. Yesterday we cleaned up the yard a bit.

My goals for 2009 were these:
1- Get in shape again. We went for walks a couple of times around the neighborhood and the weather's pretty good. And when it's summer, I want to do some serious swimming (if we ever get the pool filter fixed).
2- Enjoy life. Try not to worry TOO much about money, and go out and have some fun once in a while
3- Spend QUALITY time with the family. I love them so much
4- Maybe find a new job. I want to make more money and I definitely deserve it
Well 1- I sorta did, but surgically
2- I definitely stopped worrying about money because I've learned that you will never have enough
3- I definitely enjoyed my family.
4- I'm putting off until next year...


So for 2010, this is what I'd like to see
1- My parent's estate closed and settled
2- I'd like to get the yard redone and Jay's garage built
3- Make some friends. I learned that they are important to have and I need some out here
4- Exercise more. I really let myself go this year and I couldn't believe it.
5- Get a new job, either by choice, or not... at this rate who knows what will happen in a couple of months. This will also help with #3.

2009 just sucked. For every step forward, I took 3 steps back and didn't get anywhere. But things can always get worse, and I just have to keep reminding myself of that. It may seem bad now, but I've gone through plenty of bad times and they worked themselves out. So I can only hope the same for these and any ones that come up in the future.

I've also been thinking about where I was 1 decade ago when the calendar turned 2000. Brenda & I were at the Swan motel in Linden with Rich, Moxley and some other SHU buddies. I didn't know Jay yet. Still in college... 10 years makes a big difference in a person's life

previous - next


archery instructor aka wonderwoman - September 25, 2017
missing jay! - September 15, 2017
trying to remember, and wishing I could forget - September 07, 2017
completely overwhelmed - September 05, 2017
16 girl scouts - August 25, 2017