index older add a note diaryland


January 27, 2008 - 6:49 am

RIP MOM 1/20/08

My mom passed away last sunday. I just spent an entire week in North Carolina hell. It was very unexpected. I spoke with her Wednesday night and she told me good news that the cancer was out of her brain completely. A few weeks back, she had been in a lot of pain- there was anothter spot pushing on her spine. Towards the end she spent a week in a rehab center because she lost feeling in her feet, and couldn't walk. She was sent home on Monday the 14th. Thursday she was brought back to the ER because she was in a lot of pain. The catheter gave her a UTI and a Bladder infection. From there it just went downhill. Immunities down, she couldn't fight off the infection, she couldn't take the Dilantin (she had been on this since she had the first seizure in August). Thursday night, she had 7 grand mal seizures in the hospital and was taken to hospice. It was her living will to not to be hooked up to anything, only to make things more comfortable for her. I made it down there around 7 on Saturday night with Cadence. We spent all night with her- had a little girl sleepover. She was semi-conscious. She knew we were there and what was going on. She woke up and got to see "her baby" one last time. We went back to the house Sunday around 5 pm to get some rest. My aunt called around 8 and said things weren't good. My brother didn't get to pick me up until 8:30 and we didn't make it there until 9:15 (stupid country NC- everything's a million miles away). She passed around 9:10. She was waiting for my uncle to get there. He made it around 9. Drove 810 miles straight from New York. He got to spend some time with her and she was finally able to rest.
The rest of my week was horrible. My stepdad, who has been in my life for the past 19 years, has turned into an evil greedy money monster- that's all he could talk about. My mom was still taking care of HIM when she was so sick. He wasn't taking care of her at all, my uncle was. I had to listen to that all week long.
We had a service on Friday night for her there. It was a regular ol' mass that they just mentioned her names a few times. I was extremely disappointed. Then when we got back to the house, all of our pictures were missing from the mantle, and only Fred's grandkids were up there with my mom. We had to leave. Jay was going to punch him in the face, and I was going to do some harm too.
My aunt, a close friend of the family, and I are planning a service at the Holy Face Monastery in Clifton- hopefully this week.

Me? Well I'm doing ok. It depends on who I'm talking to or what I'm thinking about. Cadence has given me great strength to make it through the days. I miss her a lot. She was so young- only 54! I'm ready to take my inheritance and just pack up and move. It's extremely hard to live with Jay's mom, knowing he gets to see her everyday, and she's healthy, and she gets to play with her granddaughter whenever she wants. It's not fair. I feel like I have no family, except for Jay and Cadence. He couldn't wait to get home to NJ. I'm not really happy to be back. I'm just happy to get away from Fred and that house.

previous - next


archery instructor aka wonderwoman - September 25, 2017
missing jay! - September 15, 2017
trying to remember, and wishing I could forget - September 07, 2017
completely overwhelmed - September 05, 2017
16 girl scouts - August 25, 2017